Brooke win the Lady Mary Trophy with a one wicket win over Martham



With the cloud cover rolling in Brooke won the toss and elected to field.

 Hoping to get early wickets Brooke’s opening bowlers were thwarted by Grist and Louis Smith before Grist was cleaned bowled by Grisley for 24 with the score at 38.

 Captain Alex Sayer and Smith added 54 for the 2nd wicket before Smith was cleaned bowled by Clabburn for a solid 25. Two wickets fell quickly with Sayer (32) and Oakey fell again to the bowling of Clabburn.  

 A mid innings recovery of 59 then followed with some good stroke play from both Dunn and Randell, however with the score on 160 Dunn was caught and bowled by Grisley.

 At this stage of the game and with only a few overs left the opinion of the experts in the crowd was that Martham would be struggling to reach 180, however some spirited hitting by Randell and Allen took the score along to 185 before Randell was caught off the bowling of Brooke captain Rob Setchell.

 The innings finally closed at 201 for 8 with 50 overs bowled leaving Allen not out on 14.

 Set 202 to win the Brooke openers put on a commanding 89 for the first wicket before Watson was clean bowled by Lanka for a very well-played 37.

 Brooke with Carver and Collinge going well added another 38 for the second wicket before Carver was lbw to Chanchalani for an excellent 40.

 Brooke then went through a middle order collapse losing their next four wickets for 9 runs – was a Martham victory on the cards.

 Sam Clabburn and Setchell then added what would be a match winning partnership of 52 before Clabburn was cleaned bowled by Lewis Dunn.

 However, there was more drama with Brooke losing both Grisley and Ling for “ducks” before captain Setchell 19 not out and Hardesty 1 not out saw Brooke over the finishing line to win an enthralling Lady Mary Trophy by 1 wicket.

 Kier Hansoume of the Norfolk Cricket Board in his role as Man of the Match adjudicator had several choices to make before he announced that Sam Clabburn from Brooke with his all-round performance of bowling figures of 4 for 35 in the Martham innings and a well struck 43 when batting was an outstanding and well deserved choice for this honour.

 The Carter/NACO Competitions road show rolls on with the Carter/NACO Cup Final between Vauxhall Mallards and Cromer being held on Sunday 20 August at Old Buckenham Cricket Club – 12 noon start – Umpires John Hansell and Ian Lovick.


David Coe14/08/2017 18:57 – Photographs attached